Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins (Spoiler Free)

there's someone inside your house

Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: YA Horror/Thriller

Publication Date: September 26, 2017

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

One-by-one, the students of Osborne High are dying in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, the dark secrets among them must finally be confronted.

Welp. I certainly never expected to read brutal murders written by the same woman who wrote Anna and the French Kiss, but hell, here we are.

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a sucker for horror. Slasher films like Halloween or Scream are some of my all time favorite forms of entertainment. I’m pretty sure I’ve read all of RL Stine’s Fear Street novels. So honestly, it’s no surprise that There’s Someone Inside Your House was one of my most anticipated releases of the year. With that said, I can’t entirely say I’m as satisfied with it as I wanted to be. I liked it, but I didn’t love it.

I think that, for me, this story fell flat because it really did focus heavily on the romance. The actual murder scenes were *amazing* and surprisingly gory, and if this book would have been written a bit darker, I think it would have been much stronger. Another thing that brought down my rating was the fact that there was a lot of emphasis placed on the fact that our MC, Makani, has a ~dark and shadowy~ past, and there’s a ~reason~ she had to leave Hawaii. Honestly, when her reasoning was finally revealed, it was such a let down. All of the build up has you thinking that she did something truly awful, when it wasn’t really that bad, in my opinion.

I give There’s Someone Inside Your House 3 out of 5 stars. I know that this is far out of Stephanie Perkin’s comfort zone, so for a first attempt into an unfamiliar genre, it was alright. If she wrote another, similar book, I would probably pick it up. Also, as a general note, I would LOVE to see more books in this genre in the future. We don’t really get much YA slasher action, and I think that’s a shame.

4 comments

  1. I completely agree with your review. I’d love to see Stephanie Perkins explore this genre a little more and edge away from the romance she’s known for…perhaps then we’ll get more horror-focused writing from her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment