fantasy

Review: Sweet Black Waves by Kristina Pérez (Spoiler Free)

sweet black waves

Title: Sweet Black Waves

Author: Kristina Pérez

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Not you without me, not me without you.

Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she’s ever loved.

Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

(more…)

Advertisements

Review: Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf (Spoiler Free)

bring me their hearts

Title: Bring Me Their Hearts

Author: Sara Wolf

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Zera is a Heartless – the immortal, unageing soldier of a witch. Bound to the witch Nightsinger ever since she saved her from the bandits who murdered her family, Zera longs for freedom from the woods they hide in. With her heart in a jar under Nightsinger’s control, she serves the witch unquestioningly.

Until Nightsinger asks Zera for a Prince’s heart in exchange for her own, with one addendum; if she’s discovered infiltrating the court, Nightsinger will destroy her heart rather than see her tortured by the witch-hating nobles.

Crown Prince Lucien d’Malvane hates the royal court as much as it loves him – every tutor too afraid to correct him and every girl jockeying for a place at his darkly handsome side. No one can challenge him – until the arrival of Lady Zera. She’s inelegant, smart-mouthed, carefree, and out for his blood. The Prince’s honor has him quickly aiming for her throat.

So begins a game of cat and mouse between a girl with nothing to lose and a boy who has it all.

Winner takes the loser’s heart.

Literally.

(more…)

Review: Moonlight & Midtown by Christina Bauer (Spoiler Free)

Print

Title: Moonlight & Midtown (Fairytales of the Magicorum #1.5)

Author: Christina Bauer

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: May 27, 2018

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

After battling werewolves and evil aunties, Bryar Rose is ready to enjoy her new life. No more crazy aunties. Her curse is toast. And Bry’s new man, Knox, is literally a dream come true. Best of all, Bry will soon attend a regular high school. Forget those sketchy tutors! To get ready, Bry is dedicating the rest of her summer to some serious back-to-school shopping with her best friend, Elle. It’s a blast, except for one thing:

Mysterious strangers are following Bry across Manhattan.

All these stalkers have oddly familiar scents and an uncanny ability to slip into the shadows whenever Bry tries to confront them. Even worse, their presence is making Knox act crazy with a capital C.

But Bry’s having none of it. Enough of her life has already been ruined by secrets. With Elle’s help, Bry plans to confront these strangers, find out what they want, and send them packing. Trouble is, the truth about their identity won’t be so easy to manage, especially when Bry finds out how these stalkers could change her future with Knox…and not for the better.

(more…)

Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian (Spoiler Free)

ash princess

Title: Ash Princess

Author: Laura Sebastian

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: April 24, 2018

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia’s family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess–a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner.

For ten years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside.

Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn’t always won on the battlefield.

For ten years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

(more…)

Review: The Queen Underneath by Stacey Filak (Spoiler Free)

the queen underneath

Title: The Queen Underneath

Author: Stacey Filak

Genre: NA/YA Fantasy

Publication Date: March 8, 2018

My Rating: 3.75 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher.

The Above and the Under have a tenuous truce that is shattered after the death of both their respective rulers. Gemma, the new queen of Under, must throw history aside and team up with Tollan, the heir to the Above throne, in order to take down a power that seeks to rule them all.

Their group of rebels is comprised of an assassin, a sex worker, and a palace servant from Above, and we follow their unique perspectives as they are forced to question previously held beliefs. But even with war looming, romance still grows. Challenging gender roles and the expectation that every prince must have a princess, Tollan discovers love with Elam—a young man, a sex worker, and one of Gemma’s closest friends.

(more…)

Cover Reveal: Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty

Hey everyone!

I’m here to bring you the awesome cover for Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty, book one in the upcoming Blood, Bloom, & Water series. Here it is, in all its glory:

Title: Fangs & Fins

Series: Blood, Bloom, & Water Book One

Author: Amy McNulty

Publisher: Snowy Wings Publishing

Publication Date: 05/01/2018

A dapper vampire. A sullen merman. Two heirs to a great conflict—and each needs to claim a beloved to become his kindred’s champion.

High school senior Ember Goodwin never had a sister, but after her mom’s remarriage, she now has two. The eldest is no stranger to her—Ivy is a witty girl in her grade who’s almost never spoken to the shy bookworm before—but she’s surprised to find the popular girl quite amiable. Their burgeoning friendship is tested, however, when Dean Horne, a pale, besuited charmer, shows interest in them both and plans to reveal his appetite for blood to the one who’ll stand by his side.

Seventeen-year-old Ivy Sheppard is tired of splitting her time between her dad’s and her mom’s, particularly when her dad uproots their lives to move them in with his new wife and step-daughter. Used to rolling with her parents’ whims, she tries to make the best of it and befriend her nerdy new step-sister. Her hectic life grows more unwieldy when she catches the eye of junior Calder Poole, whom she swears she sees swap well-toned legs for a pair of fins during a dip in a lake. Now she’s fending off suitors left and right, all while trying to get to the bottom of the strange happenings in her town.

The first book in the Blood, Bloom, & Water series sets family against family and friend against friend as an epic, ancient war comes to a head in a supposedly sleepy suburb.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36228627-fangs-fins

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079J57DVB/ (99¢ for preorder and first week of sale only)

Paperback will be available widely

Review: By a Charm and a Curse by Jaime Questell (Spoiler Free)

by a charm and a curse

Title: By a Charm and a Curse

Author: Jaime Questell

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: February 6, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Le Grand’s Carnival Fantastic isn’t like other traveling circuses. It’s bound by a charm, held together by a centuries-old curse, that protects its members from ever growing older or getting hurt. Emmaline King is drawn to the circus like a moth to a flame…and unwittingly recruited into its folds by a mysterious teen boy whose kiss is as cold as ice.

Forced to travel through Texas as the new Girl in the Box, Emmaline is completely trapped. Breaking the curse seems like her only chance at freedom, but with no curse, there’s no charm, either—dooming everyone who calls the Carnival Fantastic home. Including the boy she’s afraid she’s falling for.

Everything—including his life—could end with just one kiss.

(more…)

Cover Reveal: Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf

Hey everyone!

I have something a little different for you today. I’ve teamed up with Sara Wolf and Entangled Teen to bring you the cover for Bring Me Their Hearts, an upcoming fantasy releasing on June 5th, 2018 that is sure to steal your heart. See what I did there? No? I’ll uh… see myself out.

ANYWAYS. Let’s get down to business.

Publishers Weekly has listed this book as “one of the most anticipated YA’s of 2018”, so I’m excited to share the cover for Bring Me Their Hearts with you! NYT bestselling author Sara Wolf delivers a fast-paced, gritty fantasy sure to thrill fans of Holly Black, Sabba Tahir, and Sarah J. Maas. Aaaaaaaaand here it is:

(more…)

Review: Blood and Sand by C.V. Wyk (Spoiler Free)

blood and sand

Title: Blood and Sand

Author: C.V. Wyk

Genre: YA Historical Fantasy

Publication Date: January 16, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Roma Victrix. The Republic of Rome is on a relentless march to create an empire―an empire built on the backs of the conquered, brought back to Rome as slaves.

Attia was once destined to rule as the queen and swordmaiden of Thrace, the greatest warrior kingdom the world had seen since Sparta. Now she is a slave, given to Xanthus, the Champion of Rome, as a sign of his master’s favor. Enslaved as a child, Xanthus is the preeminent gladiator of his generation.

Against all odds, Attia and Xanthus form a tentative bond. A bond that will spark a rebellion. A rebellion that threatens to bring the Roman Republic to its end―and gives rise to the legend of Spartacus…

(more…)

Review: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black (Spoiler Free)

the cruel prince

Title: The Cruel Prince

Author: Holly Black

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: January 2, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

(more…)