fantasy

Review: The Nutcracker Curse by Margo Ryerkerk (Spoiler Free)

the nutcracker curse

Title: The Nutcracker Curse (Cursed Fairy Tale #1)

Author: Margo Ryerkerk

Genre: YA Fantasy/Retelling

Publication Date: December 1, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

12 days.
4 realms.
Break the curse.
Or turn into a nutcracker.

Princess Clara thought she knew the main threat to her freedom.

She was wrong.

At seventeen years old, Clara isn’t ready to marry, and yet that’s what she must do as the crown princess of Austria.

However, getting to know the foreign princes visiting her kingdom becomes the least of Clara’s worries when she picks up a bespelled nutcracker and unleashes a deadly curse. She has twelve days to find and feed the nutcracker the magical nut Crackatook. If she fails, her soul will be trapped inside the toy for all eternity and her body will turn to wood.

Instead of relying on her suitors or the king’s men to find the cure, Clara saddles her unicorn and sneaks out of the palace. Her childhood friend Philip notices her leaving and makes her choose between returning to the castle or allowing him to come along.

Reluctantly, Clara agrees to him joining her, and soon, they are off to lands filled with mythical creatures.

Will they survive all trials and find the Crackatook in time? Or will Clara’s soul become trapped in the nutcracker and her body turn to wood?

(more…)

Advertisements

Review: Illusions by Madeline J. Reynolds (Spoiler Free)

illusions.jpg

Title: Illusions

Author: Madeline J. Reynolds

Genre: YA Historical Fantasy

Publication Date: November 6, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Thomas Pendelton was born into wealth and prestige. He has a sensitive heart and wants nothing more than to write poetry. Instead, he is apprenticing for Neville Wighton the Great, an aging magician who has become somewhat crazed over the years in his pursuit of fame. With Thomas’ help, Wighton is about to premiere the greatest illusion seen by man, for Thomas possesses something no other illusionist has: real magic. Many in the theatrical world are desperate to learn Wighton’s big secret. One such magician is Paolo il Magnifico. His apprentice, Saverio Moretti, is also seeking the answer. He has a scheme to get close to Wighton by seducing Thomas but seduction turns to real feelings. Now the young men must struggle to keep the secret of their romance, as well as the secret of Thomas’ magic, as both of these things could cost Thomas his life. Through journal entries, posters, letters, and other documents, ILLUSIONS is a story of love, betrayal, and of course, magic.

(more…)

Review: Beneath the Citadel by Destiny Soria (Spoiler Free)

beneath the citadel

Title: Beneath the Citadel

Author: Destiny Soria

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: October 9, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I won a copy of this book through a giveaway.

In the city of Eldra, people are ruled by ancient prophecies. For centuries, the high council has stayed in power by virtue of the prophecies of the elder seers. After the last infallible prophecy came to pass, growing unrest led to murders and an eventual rebellion that raged for more than a decade.

In the present day, Cassa, the orphaned daughter of rebels, is determined to fight back against the high council, which governs Eldra from behind the walls of the citadel. Her only allies are no-nonsense Alys, easygoing Evander, and perpetually underestimated Newt, and Cassa struggles to come to terms with the legacy of rebellion her dead parents have left her — and the fear that she may be inadequate to shoulder the burden. But by the time Cassa and her friends uncover the mystery of the final infallible prophecy, it may be too late to save the city — or themselves.

(more…)

Review: The Navigator’s Touch by Julia Ember (Spoiler Free)

the navigators touch

Title: The Navigator’s Touch (The Seafarer’s Kiss #2)

Author: Julia Ember

Genre: Fantasy (with LGBT rep!)

Publication Date: September 13, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

After invaders destroyed her village, murdered her family, and took her prisoner, shield-maiden Ragna is hungry for revenge. A trained warrior, she is ready to fight for her home, but with only a mermaid and a crew of disloyal mercenaries to aid her, Ragna knows she needs new allies. Guided by the magical maps on her skin, battling storms and mutiny, Ragna sets sail across the Northern Sea.

She petitions the Jarl in Skjordal for aid, but despite Ragna’s rank and fighting ability, the Jarl sees only a young girl, too inexperienced to lead, unworthy of help. To prove herself to the Jarl and win her crew’s respect, Ragna undertakes a dangerous expedition. But when forced to decide between her own freedom and the fate of her crew, what will she sacrifice to save what’s left of her home?

Inspired by Norse mythology and J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan, this companion novel to The Seafarer’s Kiss is a tale of vengeance, valor, honor, and redemption.

(more…)

Review: I Do Not Trust You by Laura J Burns and Melinda Metz (Spoiler Free)

i do not trust you

Title: I Do Not Trust You

Author(s): Laura J Burns and Melinda Metz

Genre: YA Adventure/Fantasy

Publication Date: September 11, 2018

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Memphis “M” Engle is stubborn to a fault, graced with an almost absurd knowledge of long lost languages and cultures, and a heck of an opponent in a fight. In short: she’s awesome.

Ashwin Sood is a little too posh for her tastes, a member of an ancient cult (which she’s pretty sure counts for more than one strike against him), and has just informed Memphis that her father who she thought was dead isn’t and needs her help.

From the catacombs of Paris to lost temples in the sacred forests, together they crisscross the globe, searching for the pieces of the one thing that might save her father. But the closer they come to saving him—and the more they fall for one another—the closer they get to destroying the world.

(more…)

Review: Uncharted by Erin Cashman (Spoiler Free)

uncharted.jpg

Title: Uncharted

Author: Erin Cashman

Genre: YA Fantasy/Mystery

Publication Date: September 4, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Seventeen-year-old Annabeth prefers the fantasy of her books and paintings to reality—because in reality, her mom is dead, and it was all her fault. When she accompanies her father to the funeral of some family friends who drowned, she’s surprised to find her grief reflected in the face of Griffin Bradford, the son of the couple who died. Griffin is nothing like the carefree boy she once knew. Now he’s irritable, removed, and he’s under police investigation for his parents’ deaths.

One night following the memorial service, Annabeth’s dad goes missing in the woods, and she suspects Griffin knows more about the disappearance than he’s letting on. He refuses to answer her questions, particularly those related to the mysterious “expedition” his parents took to Ireland, where they went missing for seven months.

Annabeth fears her father isn’t lost, but rather a victim of something sinister. She launches her own investigation, tracing clues that whisper of myth and legend and death, until she stumbles upon a secret. One that some would die to protect, others would kill to expose—and which twists Annabeth’s fantasy and reality together in deadly new ways.

(more…)

Review: Mirage by Somaiya Daud (Spoiler Free)

mirage

Title: Mirage (Mirage #1)

Author: Somaiya Daud

Genre: YA Fantasy/Sci-Fi

Publication Date: August 28, 2018

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation; she dreams of writing poetry like the old-world poems she adores; she dreams of receiving a sign from Dihya that one day, she, too, will have adventure, and travel beyond her isolated moon.

But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects: she is kidnapped by the regime and taken in secret to the royal palace, where she discovers that she is nearly identical to the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. The princess is so hated by her conquered people that she requires a body double, someone to appear in public as Maram, ready to die in her place.

As Amani is forced into her new role, she can’t help but enjoy the palace’s beauty—and her time with the princess’ fiancé, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear. If Amani ever wishes to see her family again, she must play the princess to perfection…because one wrong move could lead to her death.

(more…)

Cover Reveal: Braid of Sand

Hey everyone!

Today I’m helping reveal the cover for the adventure-packed Rapunzel retelling from Alicia Gaile, Braid of Sand! The cover was designed by Alicia Gaile. Are you ready to see the cover? Have a look below!

In the shade of a tower hidden in the Realm of the Gods grows a sacred tree tied to all life in Phalyra. Entrusted with its protection, Raziela—the last surviving priestess of the Great Mother, Naiara—spends her days honing herself into a weapon worthy to serve the goddess.

Meanwhile, mankind is turning from the old ways. Now the tree is dying and time is running out. Hoping to save it by rekindling the people’s faith, a desperate Raziela commits an act of sacrilege to perform a miracle.

But when the disillusioned Phalyrians receive a gift from the gods, they send their most ruthless mercenary to hunt down its source. His arrival forces Raziela to question everything she knows. As the two execute a careful dance of secrets and hard truths, they pit the fate of humanity against the wrath of the goddess.

Title: Braid of Sand

Author: Alicia Gaile

Release Date: November 6, 2018

Publisher: Snowy Wings Publishing

You can add Braid of Sand to your Goodreads here!

Review: Sweet Black Waves by Kristina Pérez (Spoiler Free)

sweet black waves

Title: Sweet Black Waves

Author: Kristina Pérez

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Not you without me, not me without you.

Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she’s ever loved.

Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

(more…)