Review: Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein (Spoiler Free)

rose petal graves

Title: Rose Petal Graves

Author: Olivia Wildenstein

Genre: NA Urban Fantasy

Publication Date: March 29, 2017

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

TRIGGER WARNING: While I will not be talking about it in detail in my review, I will say that this book does include the topic of suicide.

Ancient secrets cannot remain buried forever.

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.

Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.

As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken.

This book was interesting, and not at all what I thought it would be. First of all, this is a story about fae. If that’s not your thing, then I’d say skip it unless you’re feeling particularly adventurous. I was indeed feeling adventurous, so I decided to go for it, even after the fact it was about fae (not usually my thing, with the exception of a few) made me a bit nervous.

I’ve changed my rating on this title a few times since finishing. As soon as I finished, my immediate reaction was four stars. I was pretty entertained by the story itself, and I want to know where it goes. However, the longer I think about it, the more I start to think “wow, that was actually a bit dumb” or “wow, that could be interpreted as problematic”. I stand by my initial assessment that I was entertained, but I will say that there are some problems with this book.

First off, some of the main events of this story just aren’t logical. For example, our main character is 19 I believe, but is supposed to be in med school. It doesn’t majorly affect the story, but it still struck me as odd the more I thought about it. Secondly, I was put off by the suicide storyline and the way that author chose to present and handle it. I won’t spoil it in this review, but if you’d like me to talk a bit more in depth about it with spoilers, just leave me a comment. Thirdly, the romance is a bit “meh”. I can’t say that I really cared what happened between the MC and her love interest too much.

Overall, Rose Petal Graves is an entertaining book that definitely has it’s problems. I give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

