Review: Famous by Default by MK Harkins (Spoiler Free)

famous by default

Title: Famous by Default

Author: MK Harkins

Genre: YA Contemporary

Publication Date: March 24, 2017

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.

Jax

Buried,
By my family’s fame.
Dying to escape the limelight,
And finally, I do.

Being raised as a Jayne, I’m under constant scrutiny. The rock band my brothers formed makes it impossible to stay under the radar. Paparazzi, tabloids, rabid fans–you name it and I’ve got it. It all makes me sick. But getting shipped off to crazy Aunt Betty’s house in my senior year of high school isn’t any better. After all, there isn’t a stray kid or pet in the world that my aunt wouldn’t take in.

Then I meet her. She’s cautious, suspicious, and not interested in me at all. But that’s fine by me. Sivan Holt may be beautiful and intelligent, but she’s nothing I’m looking for.

Sivan

Drowning,
In my past.
Struggling to feel settled.
And finally, I do.

Growing up in the foster care system, I longed for a sense of belonging. All I wanted was a place to call home.
At the age of seventeen, I’m finally starting to feel it here. Home.

When he comes along, it unsettles me. I don’t want him to ruin everything we’ve built–everything that matters. Jax Jayne is arrogant, privileged, and I want nothing to do with him. But those green eyes of his keep drawing me in. If I let down my walls, will it be my final undoing?

Call it a guilty pleasure, but I am 100% a sucker for celeb/”normal” people romances, so I knew that Famous by Default was going to be a read that I enjoyed immensely. I can definitely say that I wasn’t disappointed. There’s something about reading about the lives of celebrities that really just fascinates me, especially when the “dark side” of fame is discussed. In the beginning of the story, the reader is presented with two very different people, and even though you *know* that they’ll end up caught up in a romance, you really have no idea how. Watching Jax and Sivan both grow and change as people throughout the story was a pleasure, and this book is an overall easy read with a great flow.

Famous by Default would be a perfect summer read for anyone who is looking for a love story with a bit of depth and feeling. Jax and Sivan are both a bit stereotypical (bad boy that isn’t all that bad and “damaged” girl), but their banter (oh, the banter!) and dynamic will keep you turning pages. I gave it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

