Playlist: Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

After the seriously awesome news about Tahereh Mafi continuing the Shatter Me series broke, I was immediately launched back into that world. I’ve actually been rereading the series in it’s entirety. While I was rereading, I got the idea to make a playlist to celebrate. Since the last playlist I made went over pretty well, I figured I would share this one also. The idea started off as a playlist encompassing the entire series as a whole, but the more I thought about it, almost all of my songs were more or less screaming WARNER WARNER WARNER sooooo… Whoops.  Think of it as a Shatter Me series with a rather… intense focus on Warner’s character. Musically, it’s all over the board, with a few artists appearing more than once. However, in my opinion, it works.

Bravado by Lorde

“Cause I was raised up to be admired, to be noticed

But when you’re withdrawn, it’s the closest thing to assault when all eyes are on you”

Arsonist’s Lullabye by Hozier

“When I was a child, I heard voices

Some would sing and some would scream”

Soldier by Fleurie

“Soldier keep on marching on

Quiet now, you’re gonna wake the beast

Hide your soul out of his reach”

Track 9 t by ’68

“If they take your crown away

Is that really all that makes you king?”

Gasoline by Halsey

“You can’t wake up, this is not a dream

You’re part of a machine, you are not a human being”

Can You Feel My Heart by Bring Me The Horizon

“I’m scared to get close, and I hate being alone

I long for that feeling to not feel at all

The higher I get, the lower I’ll sink

I can’t drown my demons, they know how to swim”

Young God by Halsey

“He says ‘Oh, baby girl, don’t get cut on my edges

I’m the king of everything and oh, my tongue is a weapon”

Female Robbery by The Neighbourhood

“I think I found out that I have nothing

That I have nothing in this place for me”

Breathe by Fleurie

“I feel you holding me, tighter I cannot see

When will we finally breathe?”

Where Do We Go From Here by Ruelle

“How do you fly with no wings?

How do you breathe without dreams?

Where do we go from here?”

Angels by The XX

“And everyday I am learning about you

The things that no one else sees”

Bitter and Sick by One Two

“Say you know, try to pretend

One more time, try it again

Your fingers ’round my neck, just how I like

Make me your mess again, do it tonight”

Can’t Take My Eyes Off You by Cary Brothers

“Of all the boys you could have landed

Why’d it have to be me?”

One comment

Leave a Reply

