Review: Waking In Time by Angie Stanton (Spoiler Free)

waking in time

Title: Waking In Time

Author: Angie Stanton

Genre: YA/NA SciFi

Publication Date: March 1, 2017

My Rating: 5 out 5 stars

I received this book from NetGalley.

Still mourning the loss of her beloved grandmother and shaken by her mysterious, dying request to “find the baby,” Abbi has just arrived at UW Madison for her freshman year. But on her second day, she wakes up to a different world: 1983. That is just the first stop on Abbi’s journey backward through time. Will is a charming college freshman from 1927 who travels forward through time. When Abbi and Will meet in the middle, love adds another complication to their lives. Communicating across time through a buried time capsule, they try to decode the mystery of their travel, find the lost baby, and plead with their champion, a kindly physics professor, to help them find each other again … even though the professor gets younger each time Abbi meets him.

I haven’t read many (any?) good time travel books before, so I got excited when I saw that this title involved time travel. I had read Rock and A Hard Place by Angie Stanton before, so I knew that her writing was pretty easy to digest and had a decent flow, but often felt a little juvenile. I was pleasantly surprised when I found that her writing had matured, and the characters in this book felt a lot closer to their actual age.

This book is fluffy in a good way. Sure, there are plot points and events that are just *too* convenient, but the story is still so damn entertaining that you don’t roll your eyes for long. I found myself engrossed in Abbi and Will’s respective stories (and their story together) and I honestly wanted to know what was going to happen. They were the kind of characters that you found yourself rooting for, even if they were both massively difficult sometimes.

The romance in this book is so sweet. You can really feel the love and understanding coming off the pages. I had moments when I shipped Abbi and Will so hard that I was actually squealing reading different sections.

Waking In Time was one of the most entertaining stories I’ve picked up in a while, and I highly recommend it. I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

