Review: Night Shift by B.R. Myers (Spoiler Free)

night-shift

Title: Night Shift

Author: B.R. Myers

Genre: YA Mystery

Publication Date: February 15, 2016

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received this title from NetGalley.

At Willard’s department store, none of the night security guards survive for long, and eighteen-year-old Daniel Gale is about to discover why.

Tired of living out of his backpack, he ignores the clerk’s gossip about the old building being haunted and accepts the latest vacated position of night guard. On his first shift Daniel narrowly escapes a fatal fall down an elevator shaft and is rescued by Mary—a bossy and intriguing girl far too beautiful for after hours inventory.

Anticipating every night shift as a chance to be with her, Daniel thinks his traveling days are over hoping that Manhattan is the place to call home. But as his life becomes more entwined with Willard’s, Daniel senses unnatural changes and bizarre coincidences both with Mary and the store itself. Soon he begins to suspect Willard’s is hiding something more sinister than gossip about ghosts—something that could make him the next casualty of the NIGHT SHIFT.

HOLY CRAP I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH.

*ahem*

Anyways. I was honestly just expecting another run of the mill ghost story when I read the synopsis, but the department store setting sounded really cool so I decided to give it a shot. Let it be known that I was 100% wrong on my “run of the mill ghost story” assessment. I’d be willing to say that even thought it’s only February, Night Shift will be one of my favorite books of the entire year. B.R. Myers delivered such a fresh, entertaining story that kept me turning (figuratively, since I was on my Kindle) pages well into the night. (No, seriously, I stayed up until 3 AM to finish.)

Without giving too much away, Night Shift incorporates a story line that I have never seen done before, and it does it very well. Everything about this story is on point: the pacing, the characters, the plot, even the cover. I honestly don’t want to say too much, because this book is awesome if you go in blind. Just trust me when I say that it’s a top notch read, and you’ll be wildly entertained. I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

