Review: Freeks by Amanda Hocking (Spoiler Free)

freeks.jpg

Title: Freeks

Author: Amanda Hocking

Genre: YA Paranormal

Publication Date: January 3, 2017

My Rating: 4 out 5 stars

I received this book from NetGalley.

In a world of magical visions and pyrokinesis, Mara just wants to have a normal life. But is that possible?

Mara has become used to the extraordinary. Roaming from place to place with Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Carnival, she longs for an ordinary life where no one has the ability to levitate or predict the future.

She gets her chance when the struggling sideshow sets up camp in the small town of Caudry and she meets a gorgeous local guy named Gabe. But before long, Mara realizes there’s a dark presence lurking in the town that’s threatening the lives of her friends. She has seven days to take control of a power she didn’t know she had in order to save everyone she cares about—and change the future forever.

After not liking Amanda Hocking’s Trylle trilogy at all, I was a little nervous to try this book. However, I’m a hopeless sucker for circus/carnival type stories, so my complete lack of self control took over and I requested this title on NetGalley. I am so glad that I did, because I really ended up liking Freeks.

My main issue with the Trylle trilogy was the fact that the dialogue and character interaction felt very unnatural and almost stilted. I remember thinking “people don’t actually talk like that” about six million times before I finally just DNFed the series. I didn’t find this to be the case with Freeks. I don’t know if Amanda’s writing has matured or if I was just completely off on my assessment before, but the dialogue and interaction in Freeks felt eighteen times more natural and smooth. I actually felt like these were conversations that real people would be having.

As for the plot itself, the best way I can describe it is to say that it’s just plain entertaining. The story grabs you, and you want to know what happens. Scratch that, you NEED to know what happens.The paranormal elements are quite well done, and there was a..type of creature included that I hadn’t really seen before. Mara is an awesome character to read about, even though she sometimes make some really crappy split second decisions and judgements.

The carnival provides the perfect backdrop for the dark events that are happening, and I even enjoyed reading about the day-to-day type bits from Mara and the people she travels with for the sideshow. It sort of made me wish that I had some kind of astounding talent so I could travel with a carnival like that to be totally honest.

I give this title 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

