Review: Beautiful Broken Girls by Kim Savage (Spoiler Free)

beautiful-broken-girls

Title: Beautiful Broken Girls

Author: Kim Savage

Genre: YA Contemporary/Mystery

Publication Date: February 21, 2017

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Mira and Francesca Cillo—beautiful, overprotected, odd—seemed untouchable. But Ben touched seven parts of Mira: her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. After the sisters drown themselves in the quarry lake, a post-mortem letter from Mira sends Ben on a quest to find notes in the seven places where they touched. Note by note, Ben discovers the mystical secret at the heart of Mira and Francesca’s world, and that some things are better left untouched.

I am so angry with myself because I didn’t like this book, but it just wasn’t what I was expecting. For whatever reason, I thought that this book’s mystery elements were going to have more of a thriller vibe. Something that felt dark and almost sinister. However, while this book certainly isn’t lacking in darkness, it is lacking elsewhere. While reading, I constantly had that “well maybe it’ll pick up in the next chapter” feeling, almost like I was just glossing over everything to get to the “good part”. It never picked up for me. I read another review somewhere that said that it felt like this book was just meandering through a story line, not really ever doing much, and I think that’s true.

There is a certain mysticism in the story that I just didn’t think worked with the overall tone. I’m not sure if it was just the author’s writing style, or if I just wasn’t in the mood for a story like Beautiful Broken Girls, but it just didn’t sit right with me. The synopsis made me expect chills and forbidden secrets, but I was left with a monotonous, bored feeling. I gave this title 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

