Review: Broken Roots by Michelle Diana Lowe (Spoiler Free)

broken-roots

Title: Broken Roots

Author: Michelle Diana Lowe

Genre: YA Contemporary

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

I received a copy of this book for review from the author.

After her father’s invention earns her family millions, sixteen-year-old Teisha Cole moves from London to Florida. Uprooted from the place she loves, Teisha now lives in a broken home full of secrets and lies.

After Teisha’s grandmother suddenly dies, her fractured family is replanted in rural England, where a kingpin and his clan are laying in wait. What ensues is a dangerous game that brings their house to its knees, as the family’s wealth begins to disappear.

When Teisha’s father develops a mysterious illness, Teisha turns detective to unravel the truth. Escaping onto the streets and stumbling into the foster care system may be her only hope of survival.

Fun fact about me.. I have a thing for soap operas. Before I moved, my mom and I would sit and watch The Bold and the Beautiful together. Why is this at all relevant to a book review? Because this book read like a soap opera, and I was so entertained.

In the midst of unpacking things, this book was my entertainment and distraction from a sea of cardboard boxes. You’ll immediately be hit with a sense of “well that escalated rather quickly…” and anyone who has ever watched a soap opera knows exactly what I’m talking about. There is almost always something happening in this book and you’ll never be bored whilst reading.

I do have a few issues with the book though. Broken Roots tackles some serious topics (I’ll list some trigger warnings at the end of this review if you want to look) but not always in the most realistic of ways. Like I said earlier, this reads like a soap opera, and everything is a bit amplified and over the top. It’s not an issue per say, but be aware that not everything in this book is necessarily realistic. The other issue that I have is that the dialogue between characters doesn’t always feel natural. There are some lines that just feel stilted, and it interrupts the flow of the story a bit.

All in all, Broken Roots is a quick entertaining read that will be especially enjoyable for those of us who like the drama of soap operas. I give it a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(As an end note, would anyone care to see a tour of my library? I’m not too sure if I have much of anyone still reading this blog after I unintentionally abandoned it.)

*TRIGGER WARNINGS/SENSITIVE TOPICS: mental illness (depression/other illnesses), death of a family member, homelessness, abuse, neglect, alcoholism

Leave a Reply

