Review: The Cloud by Taylor Hohulin (Spoiler Free)

the-cloud

Title: The Cloud (The Marian #3)

Author: Taylor Hohulin

Genre: YA Steampunk Adventure (with pirates!)

Publication Date: October 21, 2016

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

When the bomb dropped, everything changed.

Even worse than the mountains of salt where oceans used to be, worse than the armies of mercenaries, worse than HydroSystems Worldwide’s rise to power, was the Cloud.

In the area closest to the bomb’s blast, the very fabric of reality was damaged. The air there can steal a person’s humanity, even as it gives great power. The Cloud is home to a deadly cult and nightmarish creatures, and it is fifteen-year-old Ethan Denby’s only hope of survival. If he ever wants to make it home, he’ll have to go where he always knew his journey would end. He will have to go into the heart of the Cloud.

This is the third and final book in The Marian Trilogy, so if you haven’t read the first two books: 1.) what are you waiting for? and 2.) exit now to avoid any possible series spoilers! You can read my reviews for The Marian and The Hunted here and here.

When I got an email from Taylor asking if I wanted to review the last book in his Marian trilogy, I immediately got excited. Obviously things have been a little (okay, a lot) hectic and slumpy for me lately, and the first two books in the trilogy were so easy to read and fast paced that I knew The Cloud would be no different. I haven’t read a book in more than a month, and The Cloud was so easy to pick up and get lost in.

If you’ve read the first two books in the series, you’ll know that things are getting pretty dire for our cast of characters in a big “life or death” kinda way. I’m happy to report that you will literally be biting your nails to the last minute because there are some characters that I was SO WORRIED ABOUT. There are twists and turns that will blow your mind around every corner in The Cloud, and believe me when I say nobody is safe from their share of pain and suffering. I mean, apparently that included me also, as there was a moment or two along the way where  my emotions were a little.. *cough* heightened. (okay I cried)

The biggest and most obvious hang up that I picked up on is that there are a few storylines that are left open. Do not expect to leave this book feeling like everything is going to be okay, and that everything has been dealt with. I mean, it’s not like the book doesn’t feel finished. It certainly feels like the end of a trilogy. However, there are questions and doubts left hanging in the air. I totally understand this choice, and Taylor actually explains a bit about it in the author’s note.

All in all, I’m a little sad that this trilogy is over. It’s been such a fun ride, and I ended up getting pretty attached to our little band of misfits and rebels. If you’re ever in the mood for something action packed (with pirates and mercenaries) and full of friendship (with pirates and mercenaries!) and even some magic (WITH PIRATES AND MERCENARIES), give The Marian Trilogy a go. The Cloud was a solid 4 out of 5 stars for me.

Leave a Reply

