xodus.jpg

Title: Xodus

Author: K.J. McPike

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book for review from the author.

All Lali Yavari wanted for her sixteenth birthday was for her mom to come back. Instead, she starts flashing between realities and seeing people disappear before her very eyes. Then the unsettling Kai Awana shows up at school, and Lali soon discovers she has inherited the ability to astral project—with a surprising twist. When Kai offers to use his own unique ability to help Lali find her mother in exchange for her help on a misguided mission, she can’t refuse…even if she’s not quite sure she can trust him.

Okay, seriously guys. I know you’re pretty accustomed to my beginning-of-the-review cover swoon… BUT LOOK AT THIS ONE. ISN’T IT GORGEOUS?

*clears throat* Anyways..

First off.. I have to say that I appreciated the pronunciation guide in the beginning of this book. Like seriously though, I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve read a book that had names that left me tongue tied and thoroughly confused. Pronunciation guides need to be a thing in general. (#pronunciationguiderise2k16?)

As for the story, it was awesome. Astral projection isn’t something that you see in YA a lot. Actually, I’m not too sure I’ve seen it in YA before, but that may just be my crappy memory. Anyways, right off the bat, Xodus scored points with me for being an original concept. More points were scored when I realized just how freakin’ sassy these characters were. There are some seriously funny laugh out loud moments throughout this story, even if there is a pretty tense theme overall.

But seriously guys, check this one out. It’s definitely a fun, well paced read with a fresh, new concept, not to mention an interesting cast of characters. I give it a four out of five stars.

One comment

Leave a Reply

