Review: Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan (Spoiler Free)

tell the wind and fire.jpg

Title: Tell the Wind and Fire

Author: Sarah Rees Brennan

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own—one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised.

Lucie alone knows of the deadly connection the young men share, and even as the knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself?

With a seriously heavy heart, I have to admit that I didn’t like this book much at all. Something about the synopsis peaked my interest in a way that made me basically hunger to get my hands on a copy. When I was able to procure a copy through NetGalley, I’m pretty sure I actually cheered. However, once I started reading, my joy was pretty shortlived.

The first chunk of this book somehow manages to be an info-dump that never really actually explains anything at all. I was SO confused. I had to reread the beginning multiple times, thinking I’d surely missed some detail that made the “who, what, why” of this book more clear. I hadn’t. With the amount of information and (sort of) world building that is thrust upon you in the first 15%, you would think that I’d be able to even figure out who the characters are, but no. After this happened, I took to Goodreads and figured out that it wasn’t just me who was completely lost. Many people had the same issue that I had, and there were a lot of people who didn’t even finish. I will say that I finished, and the end of the story was a bit better, but not enough to save it.

With that said, I will probably read this author’s other works. I think I have the first two books in her Lynburn Legacy (is that it?), and I’ve heard some decent reviews on those. Tell the Wind and Fire ended up being a two star read for me.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

