Review: Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame (Spoiler Free)

did i mention i love you.jpg

Title: Did I Mention I Love You?

Author: Estelle Maskame

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: December 1, 2015

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Love is everything but expected.

Eden Monro came to California for a summer of sun, sand and celebrities – what better way to forget about the drama back home? Until she meets her new family of strangers: a dad she hasn’t seen in three years, a stepmonster and three stepbrothers.

Eden gets her own room in her dad’s fancy house in Santa Monica. A room right next door to her oldest stepbrother, Tyler Bruce. Whom she cannot stand. He’s got angry green eyes and ego bigger than a Beverly Hills mansion. She’s never felt such intense dislike for someone. But the two are constantly thrown together as his group of friends pull her into their world of rule-breaking, partying and pier-hanging.

And the more she tries to understand what makes Tyler burn hotter than the California sun, the more Eden finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t…

This book was just so entertaining! Every so often, I pick up a book and it just happens to be exactly what I’m craving. That’s what happened with Did I Mention I Love You? I read this book in one sitting, just because I was so engrossed with the story and fascinated with the characters. While I’d say this is definitely a summer read, I read it in January and had no problem feeling like I was hanging out on the beach in California with Eden and her friends!

I have to admit that I had my doubts from the synopsis. The whole step sibling romance thing kind of threw me off, considering I have step siblings of my own, and I just can’t imagine anything like this happening to myself! Also, I’m not usually one for contemporaries, but when I saw this title on NetGalley, something in my mind urged me to request it. I’m so glad that I did.

Did I Mention I Love You? brought some awesome summer time feelings on, which I really needed when it’s 15-20 degrees out here! Both Eden and Tyler are interesting characters to read about. I really liked getting to know Eden, and just learning about her as a person. I will say that I would have liked to know a little bit more about the situation with her friends back home, but that’s just a minor complaint.

Overall, Did I Mention I Love You? was such a fun, entertaining read that really made me feel like I was in the middle of summer with my friends. If you’re currently surrounded by snow and ice like myself, or simply love summery contemporaries, I would highly recommend this book! I give it four out of five stars!

2 comments

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! I actually participated in a blog tour a while back and I’ve been interested ever since. I agree that the synopsis/ premise is a bit weird but your review makes me want to pick it up! Hopefully sometime in the spring or summer :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

