Review: The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden (Spoiler Free)

the casquette girls.jpg

Title: The Casquette Girls

Author: Alys Arden

Genre: YA Paranormal

Publication Date: November 17, 2015

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

Seven girls tied by time.
Five powers that bind.
One curse to lock the horror away.
One attic to keep the monsters at bay.

After the storm of the century rips apart New Orleans, sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne wants nothing more than her now silent city to return to normal. But with home resembling a war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal needs a new definition.

As the city murder rate soars, Adele finds herself tangled in a web of magic that weaves back to her own ancestors. Caught in a hurricane of myths and monsters, who can she trust when everyone has a secret and keeping them can mean life or death? Unless . . . you’re immortal.

Love, love, loved this one! Some of you may not know, but paranormal is my comfort zone. There’s nothing I appreciate more than a well written paranormal novel, and that is exactly what The Casquette Girls delivered to me! Even though the book itself is quite long (it tops out at a whopping 565 pages!) I never felt like it was dragging, and I certainly was never bored.

Adele’s storm ravaged New Orleans was the most atmospheric setting I’ve been treated to in quite a long time. I felt like I was walking through the city right next to her. The descriptions of the devastation that the storm brought were positively amazing. Some books read like movies, and this one certainly did!

As for characters, I loved Adele. She was so likable in a “normal girl with a totally not normal life” kinda way. She was sarcastic and sassy, and was able to stand up for herself when needed. She was also brave, and I found myself really admiring her character at times.

Overall, The Casquette Girls is a must read in my book! Be sure to check it out. Five out of five stars all the way.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

