Review: Consent by Nancy Ohlin (Spoiler Free)

consent.jpg

Title: Consent

Author: Nancy Ohlin

Genre: YA Contemporary

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through Edelweiss.

Bea has a secret.

Actually, she has more than one. There’s her dream for the future that she can’t tell anyone—not her father and not even her best friend, Plum.

And now there’s Dane Rossi. Dane is hot, he shares Bea’s love of piano, and he believes in her.

He’s also Bea’s teacher.

When their passion for music crosses into passion for each other, Bea finds herself falling completely for Dane. She’s never felt so wanted, so understood, so known to her core. But the risk of discovery carries unexpected surprises that could shake Bea entirely. Bea must piece together what is and isn’t true about Dane, herself, and the most intense relationship she’s ever experienced in this absorbing novel from Nancy Ohlin, the author of Beauty.

I’m going to start off with the obligatory “OH MY GOD THAT COVER” section. This cover isn’t something that I’d usually go for, but I actually really like the stark simplicity of it. There’s something about the overall feel that really matches the story.

I don’t know why I’m always drawn to these types of stories, but I am. I’ve read a few books about teacher/student romances, and I usually end up rooting for them to be together, however weirdly wrong that is. For the most part, this was no exception.

I ended up quite liking this book, and I read it in one sitting. It is quite a thin book, but I was honestly intrigued. I didn’t quite know how this story was going to end up, and I absolutely NEEDED to know.

The best way that I could describe Dane and Bea’s relationship is turbulent. There is some *serious* passion between those two, and it’s very apparent. They’re one of those couples that are more or less like magnets whenever they’re around each other. What I really liked is the fact that Dane honestly did want the best for Bea. Even though not many people believed in Bea (Bea included!), he actually did. This is obviously not a depiction of a healthy relationship by any means, but I did like how Dane was able to make Bea really come alive and figure out who she was and what she wanted.

I did have a few issues with this book. For one, it was quite slow to start, and then it seemed like everything happened all at once. I didn’t think the pacing was ideal, and I almost had to trudge through the first half. I also wasn’t satisfied with the ending. It’s a bit of an open ending, but there’s a difference between open endings and just plain unresolved story lines.

Despite my few pacing and ending issues, I did really enjoy Consent. I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

