Review: 13 To Life by Shannon Delany (Spoilers)

13 to life

Title: 13 To Life

Author: Shannon Delany

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Number of Pages: 308

My Rating: 1 out of 5 stars.

Everything about Jessie Gillmansen’s life changed when her mother died. Now even her hometown of Junction is changing.  Mysterious dark things are happening. All Jessie wants is to avoid more change. But showing a hot new guy around Junction High, she’s about to discover a whole new type of change. Pietr Rusakova is more than good looks and a fascinating accent—he’s a guy with a dangerous secret. And his very existence is sure to bring big trouble to Jessie’s small town.
It seems change is the one thing Jessie can’t avoid.

Oh buddy.. This is gonna be a pretty negative ranty review, so if you don’t want to read that kinda thing (or if you happen to enjoy this book!), I’d suggest moving along. However, if you’re looking for some cheap entertainment, buckle up and keep on reading.

I’ll be honest, I read this one more or less on a dare from my best friend. She read it, and thought it was so horrible that she’d pass it on to me. We love each other, I promise. When I finally got some time to pick this book up, I was a little confused. The first ten pages or so are actually decent. Our main character, Jessie, is out working with her horse. The writing isn’t particularly horrendous, so I thought maybe I’d end up actually enjoying this book.

And then Jessie opened her mouth.

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, I’VE NEVER ENCOUNTERED A MORE ANNOYING PROTAGONIST. Have you ever wanted to reach through the pages of a book and strangle a character to death? I had this feeling *tenfold* whenever Jessie did much of anything. She was extremely immature, hypocritical, judgmental, you name it. She got in a legitimate argument because Pietr (more on Mr Wonderful later) said he didn’t enjoy Romeo and Juliet. Complete with weirdly aggressive behavior. SHE MADE UP HER MIND ABOUT NOT LIKING HIM AT ALL BECAUSE HE DIDN’T LIKE ROMEO AND JULIET.

**SPOILER**

If Jessie wasn’t unlikable enough, she’s also a horrible friend to literally everyone she knows. She thinks Pietr is *super dreamy*, but because Pietr is a blasphemous bastard who doesn’t like Romeo and Juliet, she decides that she needs to set him up with her best friend. AND THEN PROCEED TO ALSO BE IN A RELATIONSHIP WITH HIM BEHIND HER FRIEND’S BACK. AFTER SHE SET THEM UP. I…I just can’t even begin to understand Jessie’s thought process.

**END SPOILER**

And now on to our hunky Russian love interest.

Pietr was an asshole. Like, no question about it. He was a massive asshole to Jessie, and basically everyone. But of course, every girl in school was falling all over him, because accent. There are about six million times when he more or less verbally bitch slaps Jessie, but she still obsesses after him, to almost a stalkerish degree. There’s not really much more to his personality, other than that he’s an ass.

All of this *cough* passionate romance culminates in a big reveal about Pietr and his family….

**SPOILER**

OMG THEY’RE WEREWOLVES WHO WOULD’VE KNOWN

But seriously, this was SO obvious almost immediately. Pietr smells people like a dog, dogs have a weird reaction to him and his family, and he heals ultra fast. Somehow, Jessie still had no freaking clue until Pietr tells her at the end of the freaking book. I mean, at least Bella Swan caught on to Edward and decided to research. There’s none of that here. Jessie is entirely clueless.

**END SPOILER**

The story itself made no sense. One minute it was just a contemporary high school drama, and then suddenly the Russian Mafia is involved and it’s basically a big shit storm of confusion.

In case you couldn’t tell, I really didn’t like this book. It took me over a month to push myself through it, and I’ve never been so glad to finish a book. The only good thing I will say is that the author had a pretty good writing style, so I would maybe consider reading something else by her. However, 13 To Life is a one star read for me..

2 comments

  1. Too bad the book is not so great for such a cool cover. I don’t like when characters don’t research & just being ignorant because in real life when we don’t know something, our first thought is to google it. Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

