Blog Tour/Review: The Affiliate by K.A. Linde (Spoiler Free)

the affiliate

Title: The Affiliate

Author: K.A. Linde

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publication Date: September 15, 2015

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm’s lifelong plans come to fruition when she’s chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland—an Affiliate to the Queen.

Or so she thinks.

When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene’s position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have…

King Edric himself.

Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom.

This book REALLY made me want to rewatch Reign! I felt like I was reading a fantasy version of Reign if Kenna was the main character rather than Mary..

I’m a sucker for royalty and court intrigue, so The Affiliate was more or less my perfect book. BUT THAT’S NOT ALL. The Affiliate features some *SIZZLING* sexual tension. The romance in this book was one of the hottest, juiciest things I’ve had the pleasure of reading in quite a while. Though Cyrene is seventeen, she doesn’t act like a child. Think of it this way: a seventeen year old navigating court and suitors is MUCH different from a seventeen year old attending high school. There are definitely some mature themes throughout this book and some scenes that will totally make you blush. I literally wolf whistled at one point.

If I wasn’t so freaking busy lately (wedding in two weeks), this would have been a one sitting read. I was picking up this book every single chance I got. I literally sat and read a few pages in the bathroom at work at one point. I know, I know. To illustrate my love, I hadn’t even gotten 10% through my e-ARC before I popped onto Amazon and bought myself a physical copy (and the Season One DVD of Reign). It was that good. There’s politics, magic, action, romance, EVERYTHING. From the very start, you’re filled with this NEED to know what happens, and that feeling never goes away. That feeling still hasn’t faded for me. Book two, please? 😉

If you’re looking for some sizzling romance and amazing court intrigue, The Affiliate is the book for you. Five out of five stars.

I’m actually rewatching Reign as I type this. Don’t judge me.

3 comments

  1. This book sounds so good! I have seen the first season if Reign and liked it, though I haven’t kept up with it. I actually just went to Amazon and ordered The Affiliate – I’m curious to read it for myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

