Review: The Suffering by Rin Chupeco (Spoiler Free)

the suffering

Title: The Suffering

Author: Rin Chupeco

Genre: YA Horror/Paranormal

Publication Date: September 8, 2015

Number of Pages: 272

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

It’s been two years since Tark Halloway’s nightmare ended. Free from the evil spirit that haunted him all his life, he now aids the ghostly Okiku and avenges the souls of innocent children by hunting down their murderers. But when Okiku becomes responsible for a death at his high school, Tark begins to wonder if they’re no better than the killers they seek out.

When an old friend disappears in Aokigahara, Japan’s infamous ‘suicide forest’, both must resolve their differences and return to that country of secrets to find her.

Because there is a strange village inside Aokigahara, a village people claim does not exist. A village where strange things lie waiting.

A village with old ghosts and an ancient evil – one that may be stronger than even Okiku…

The Suffering is a solid sequel in The Girl From The Well duology. I read the first book, The Girl From The Well, a while back and enjoyed it quite a lot. One of my favorite aspects of the story was the rich use of Asian culture. I learned so much about a culture that I wasn’t very familiar with at all, and the same thing is true of The Suffering. Japan isn’t just used as a setting. You really get a wonderful mental picture of all of the places that Tark and Okiku go. Also, if you’re like me, you’ll learn a lot about the myths and legends in Asian culture.

Besides the awesome cultural aspect, The Suffering offers the same well written, likable-even-though-they-might-be-homicidal characters. While the first book is written in Okiku’s perspective, The Suffering is written in Tark’s perspective, allowing you to see them through each other’s eyes, which I thought worked quite well.

The horror in The Suffering is, in my opinion, scarier than in The Girl In The Well. I’m not too easy to scare at all, but a few things in this book really ended up getting under my skin. Needless to say, I had a few nights where I wanted to sleep with the lights on. Not to mention nights where I sprinted down the hallway because I felt like I was being chased..

All in all, I really enjoyed The Suffering. The cultural aspect of this book is something that I had never really seen before, and the horror was well done. Four out of five stars.

11 comments

  1. Do you know of any books similar to this? Because what you said about the culture and stuff sounds like it’d make for a really awesome book. But I’m such a wuss, I can’t handle horror at all! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

