Review: Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray (Spoiler Free)

lair of dreams

Title: Lair of Dreams

Author: Libba Bray

Genre: YA Paranormal/Historical Fiction

Number of Pages: 624

Publication Date: August 25, 2015

My Rating: 4/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O’Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to “read” objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, “America’s Sweetheart Seer.” But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners’ abilities…

Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?

Alright.. My original rating was a three, but the longer I thought about it, the more I wanted to up it. The writing was just so beautiful, despite the problems that I did have with it. Libba Bray is a pro at telling stories that are haunting and captivating, and she was really on top of her game with this book.

I did have some problems with Lair of Dreams though.

For one, this book is LONGGGGGGGG, and as a consequence, some of the chapters felt like filler information with no real purpose other than to showcase Bray’s writing skills. I think the book could have been shortened quite a bit, and the story wouldn’t have suffered much at all.

The other issue I had is that I felt like we didn’t get to spend enough time with the characters we know and love from The Diviners. Evie began to feel like a side character, rather than a main character. Lair of Dreams actually centers more around Henry and a new character, Ling. I didn’t really enjoy Ling’s POV very much, so I was a little put off by that. I did get used to her voice eventually, but she’s very..brusque.

Lair of Dreams really surprised me. There are a lot of romantic pairings that start to form in this book, and there were some things that I never in a million years thought I would ship at the beginning, but by the time I finished, I was screaming “I WILL GO DOWN WITH THIS SHIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!” But seriously, keep an open mind when going into this one. The couplings might pleasantly surprise you. πŸ™‚

Overall, Lair of Dreams was beautiful and haunting (and maybe a wee bit long winded), and it taught me to try and keep an open mind to new characters and storylines. My initial rating was a three, but after thinking about it for a while, I have to give it a solid four.

5 comments

  1. I enjoyed The Diviners but I didn’t LOVE it. I definitely want to read Lair of Dreams, but it may get pushed back on my tbr list for now. Thanks for your review! I’m excited to read the romantic aspect of it now but I’m not thrilled with the idea that it’s longer than necessary.

    Like

    1. It’s a time commitment for sure. Lol. I’d save it for when you have a lot of extra time to read. It’s a pretty good follow up to The Diviners, but holy crap, it’s so long. The romance in Lair of Dreams was just.. Yes. Lol. I have a new ship.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

