Review: Remembrance by Michelle Madow (Some Spoilers)

remembrance

Goodreads/Amazon

Title: Remembrance

Author: Michelle Madow

Genre: YA Fantasy (I honestly have no clue on this one)

Number of Pages: 314 pages

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Lizzie Davenport has been reincarnated from 1815, England … but she doesn’t realize it until she meets her soul mate from the past and he triggers her memories to gradually return.

When Drew Carmichael transfers into Lizzie’s high school, she feels a connection to him, like she knows him. But he wants nothing to do with her. Reaching Drew is more difficult because she has a boyfriend, Jeremy, who has become full of himself after being elected co-captain of the varsity soccer team, and her flirtatious best friend Chelsea starts dating Drew soon after his arrival. So why can’t she get him out of her mind?

Lizzie knows she should let go of her fascination with Drew, but fighting fate isn’t easy, and she’s determined to unravel the mysteries of the past.

This book had so much potential to be great. The concept hooked me as soon as I scanned through the synopsis. I’ve been dying to find a good book that deals with reincarnated soul mates. The idea just fascinates me. However, Remembrance just ended up falling flat for me, both the plot and the characters.

I was ready to forgive a little bit of insta-love. I mean, the plot kind of calls for a little bit of immediate attraction. However, there wasn’t just a little bit of insta-love. Lizzie literally lost her shit and became more or less obsessed with Drew even though her best friend was dating him. There was nothing about Drew’s character that made me think “Wow, how dreamy. I totally don’t blame Lizzie for not wanting to stay away!” In fact, Drew was an asshole. Plain and simple. He was rude to Lizzie (not that she wasn’t stalking him..) so many times, and she just didn’t really back off. Add in Lizzie’s barely there family, her boyfriend Jeremy (who treated her like a freaking doormat), and her “best friend” (who managed to perfectly execute the stereotypical YA best friend/mean girl hybrid) and you have a cast of characters who are either entirely unlikable or just one dimensional and boring.

Now, I know I said I gave it three stars in my wrap up, but as I’m writing this review, I’m realizing that that rating was extremely generous. In fact, the only thing that saved this book from being a one star book was the fact that Michelle was so young when she wrote this book, and I know her writing has matured since she wrote Remembrance. I vastly prefer Michelle’s Secret Diamond Sisters series over this series. 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

