Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Spoiler Free)

the fixer

Title: The Fixer

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Genre: YA Contemporary

Number of Pages: 384

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Yet another contemporary title that really impressed me. I had heard some hype about this book before it’s release, so I figured that I would give it a shot. I’m always game for some juicy political scandal, so I figured The Fixer would be a perfect fit. For the most part, I was correct.

The scandalous politics in this book really are what hooked me in. For whatever reason, I’m a sucker for political intrigue and backstabbing (in books!), whether it’s the modern day American government or the Tudor court. The intricate (and oftentimes dangerous) games that people play for power never cease to amaze me. Tess is immediately thrown into a game of power, both at school and out of school, one being entirely more dangerous than the other. In a world of corrupt politicians, Tess finds herself smack dab in the middle of one of the biggest scandals Washington has seen in quite a while. Once the ball gets rolling on this sinister plot, the rest of the book is a high speed, suspenseful ride. The high stakes game that Tess finds herself playing had me hooked until the very end!

The only reason that I didn’t give this title five stars is because I felt like it was missing a little something. The synopsis mentions love triangles and family secrets. While there were some CRAZY family secrets involved, I didn’t really pick up on much romance at all, really. As I believe this is a series (OR IT NEEDS TO BE), there is a bit of a set up for a love triangle or two, but Tess is too busy trying to stay alive and get to the bottom of things to worry much about dating. Y’all know me. I’m a sucker for romance. I just feel like if they were going to make claims of love triangles and romance in the synopsis, they should have followed through a little more!

Overall, The Fixer is a great read. Tess is a great protagonist, and the mess she finds herself in will keep you on your toes right until the last pages. Four out of five stars.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

