Review: Awake by Natasha Preston (Spoiler Free)

awake

Title: Awake

Author: Natasha Preston

Genre: YA Contemporary/Mystery

Number of Pages: 352

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

My Rating: 2/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from Sourcebooks Fire through NetGalley. Thank you!

Scarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house burn down, and she accepts the life they’ve created for her without question—until a car accident causes Scarlett to start remembering pieces of an unfamiliar past.

When a new guy moves into town, Scarlett feels an instant spark. But Noah knows the truth of Scarlett’s past, and he’s determined to shield her from it…because Scarlett grew up in a cult called Eternal Light, controlled by her biological parents.

And they want her back.

I had such high hopes for this book. I really thought that I would enjoy the cult storyline, and I was right. Unfortunately, that’s about the only thing that I enjoyed. The best part of the book for me was the last ~20%, which really heavily featured the cult storyline. I had to fight really hard to not DNF this.

My main issue was that I couldn’t care less about any of the characters. There was no connection for me. Even when the characters were in danger and fighting for their lives, I just didn’t care what happened. On top of that, Scarlett and Noah were both extremely annoying. Not only did I not care about them, but I just couldn’t stand either of them. Their romance was quite possibly the most nauseating thing I’ve ever read. They’re just kids. I honestly can’t remember their exact ages, but I think they’re 16-17, and not even a month or two after meeting, both characters are thinking about marriage and spending forever together. Normally, I’m not too critical about instalove. Most instalove is just lust and physical attraction, but this is something else entirely. Scarlett and Noah’s “feelings” for each other are just weird, and not at all realistic.

The other issue that I had was with the “mystery” of Scarlett’s memory loss. I may be the strange one here, but I don’t really remember anything from my very early childhood either. I had a hard time viewing her “memory loss” as something mysterious when I can’t remember many things from my first few years either. As this was a pretty huge plot point, I thought that it made the entire book fall flat as a whole. I feel like Preston should have made Scarlett “forget” a bigger chunk of time if she wanted to go that route.

Overall, this book just fell flat for me. The promising synopsis drew me in, but the one dimensional characters, awful romance, and failed mystery elements made this a dud. I give this 2 out of 5 stars, simply because I sort of liked the end.

6 comments

  1. I got the book from netgalley as well and had pretty much the same reaction too it. It just wasn’t that good and the characters weren’t all that interesting. The last 20% really was the only interesting part.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree I wish they the author had cut down the exposition between Scarlett and Noah and expanded on the cult.

        Like

      2. Yes! Especially since the romance was less than stellar to read. I also think some key points were revealed waaaaaaaaay too quickly and kind of prevented the cult storyline from being expanded properly.

        Like

Leave a Reply

