Review: Hex by Mackenzie McGuire (Spoiler Free)

hex

Title: Hex (Saxton Academy Series #1)

Author: Mackenzie McGuire

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Number of Pages: 244

Expected Publication: June 20, 2015

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was sent a copy of this book by the author for review.

I’m Reece. A month ago, I died along with my two best friends in a car crash. Obviously, my death didn’t last long. Since then, I hear voices and the nightmares – don’t even get me started. I just wanted to be normal. That meant leaving my lux L.A. life for the gothic, and icy, Saxton Academy in the mountains of Vermont. Away from the tabloids, I had a plan to get my life together. But that just isn’t possible. Thanks to hotties Eli McKinnon and Carden McDowell, I discovered my life is a lie. They want to help me reach my potential. I just want to be a regular girl. But darkness is coming, and if I want to stay alive, I may not have a choice.

Holy witchy delicious goodness.

This book is being marketed as a lighter, more fun take on YA as a response to the darker themes that are predominant in YA these days. I’d have to say that they did a good job of making things fun. I blew through this book, simply because the characters and the story were just so fun, and easy to read. Don’t get me wrong, the characters find themselves in some very real danger, but the story doesn’t make you want to curl up in a ball and be in a funk for days. This is a story about love, friendship, and magic.

Speaking of magic, I was really impressed with how covens, witches, and magic were used in this book. Mackenzie didn’t make the “magic system” ridiculously complicated, so I never once felt lost when things were being explained. When I was reading, I kept getting Harry Potter and Akarnae vibes. I think that’s because of the fun, easy to read element of the story. I would like to see more about the magic in the next books in the series, though.

Being in Reece’s mind is great. Even though she’s gone through tragedy, she’s still extremely spunky, and definitely has a mind of her own. She’s thrust into a world that’s crazy and honestly unbelievable for her and still has to balance school and teenage politics. Add some lingering emotional trauma from the car accident that killed her friends just a month ago, and Reece has a crazy amount of stress on her plate. I’m glad that Mackenzie took pretty realistic take on Reece’s character. Reece isn’t always okay. In fact, a lot of the time, she isn’t. She needs the strength of her friends to really work through her issues, and I love that.

While we’re talking about Reece’s friends, I have to bring up one of my favorite characters: Tuesday. Oh my goodness, I love this girl. She’s seriously my spirit animal. So much sass and sarcasm. She’s that friend that’s wildly inappropriate, but it’s a hoot to be around her. Nine times out of ten, when she was around, she would have something to say that had me laughing out loud.

I’m really looking forward to seeing where Mackenzie takes this story. I gave this title 5 out of 5 stars. I can’t remember the last time I read a story that was just so easy to read.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

