Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (Spoiler Free)

a court of thorns and roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas

Genre: New Adult Fantasy

Number of Pages: 416

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

To clear the genre thing up, I know a lot of people consider this title to be YA. After reading it, I’m more inclined to say that it’s New Adult. There’s some pretty mature scenes (sexuality) and Feyre’s age puts her in the “New Adult heroine” category. I feel like the sex and violence are a wee bit too mature for the younger crowd. You’ve been forewarned. 🙂

Now that I’ve rambled on about random things, I’ll actually start my review. In case you didn’t know, this book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I can describe this book pretty easily: steamy and action packed. Feyre was a total badass. There’s no questioning it. Without giving any of the plot away, I have to say that she went through some CRAZY things, and still managed to kick ass and take names. Tamlin was also pretty fierce. He’s definitely not someone that I would ever want to screw around with. Rhysand was also pretty scary.. (I also kept picturing him as Jonathan Rhys Meyers…) Actually, I don’t want to screw around with any of the Fae in this book. Seriously though, they’re all terrifying in their own right. As for the steamy element… Well… Let’s just say that the romance in this book is AMAZING, and Maas had me blushing and fanning myself whilst reading a few of the scenes. It was so well done. Even knew that it was coming, I found myself just as surprised as Feyre when she realized that she was attracted to Tamlin. The attraction was just so subtle, and it kind of sneaks up on you. I’m a sucker for hatred-turned-to-love stories, and this story was just that.

I’ve heard some talk that Feyre is similar to the heroine in the Throne of Glass series, but I can’t really say whether I agree or not… Shamefully, I can’t say that I’m familiar enough with Maas’ Throne of Glass series to compare the writing, or really any story elements. I started to read Throne of Glass, and put it down for some unknown reason. *hides from pitchforks and torches*

Overall, this is a solid five star book. I’m still getting into fantasy, and I never felt intimidated by the fantasy elements included. Everything about it just had me so committed and sucked in, and I ended up reading this book in only a few sittings. If you haven’t read this one, definitely check it out.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

