Review: Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton (Mostly Spoiler Free)

rock and a hard place

Title:  Rock and a Hard Place

Author: Angie Stanton

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Number of Pages: 304

My Rating: 3* out of 5 stars

In an instant, Libby’s life went from picture-perfect to a nightmare. After surviving a terrible car accident, Libby is abandoned by her father and left with her controlling aunt. A new town, a new school, no friends–Libby is utterly alone. But then she meets Peter.

The lead singer in a rock band with his brothers, Peter hates that his parents overly manage his life. Constantly surrounded by family, Peter just wants to get away. And when he meets Libby, he’s finally found the one person who just wants to be with him, not the rock star.

But while Peter battles his family’s growing interference in both his music and personal life, Libby struggles with her aunt, who turns nastier each day. And even though Libby and Peter desperately want to be together, their drastically different lives threaten to keep them apart forever.

I…don’t know what I was thinking when I picked this up. Probably something to do with my weird boy band kick that I’ve been on. Yeah, I’ll blame it on that. I’ve also been on an epic quest to find YA contemporaries that basically blow me away.

ANYWAYS.

I can’t say that I disliked this book, because I found myself enjoying the second chunk well enough. However, I also can’t say that I necessarily liked it either, because I found myself rolling my eyes more often than not.

This book was cheese filled.

I can’t think of any better way to say it. Some of the dialogue was just..cringe worthy. There’s a scene where Peter has bought Libby a cell phone (mind you, they’ve hung out maybe twice at this point), and she turns to him, and says something along the lines of:

“I can’t accept this.. You haven’t even kissed me yet.”

Um.. Calm down Libby. I think that this book would have been about twenty times more enjoyable for me if the dialogue wasn’t so dang cheesy. I mean, it had a good enough story line going. What girl hasn’t dreamed of a rock/pop star swooping in and deciding that they’re desperately in love with a normal girl? That basically describes half of my waking thoughts in middle school.

With all of that said, I will be continuing on with the series for a few different reasons. For one, each book follows a different brother, and I can see the other brothers’ stories being a little more my speed. Also, I decided that I needed to buy the entire series without reading the first one. Yeah, I know..

*I gave this book three stars on Goodreads, but it’s more like a 2.89 ish..

4 comments

Leave a Reply

