Currently Reading + Slumps

Hey guys!

It’s been a while since I’ve done a “currently reading” update, so I figured we’re about due for one. For once in my life, I’m only reading one book right now. That book would be:

the wrath and the dawn

If you’ve followed me for a while, you’d know that I’m usually reading anywhere from 2 to 5 books at any given time. The truth is, I’m in a bit of a slump. I have a lot going on in my life right now. Some of you may know that I’m getting married in October, so I’ve been planning for that. I’ve also been apartment hunting. I’m still trying to let go of the last of my finals stress also. For whatever reason, I just haven’t wanted to read very much in my free time. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things soon. Does anyone have any good “slump breaking” tips, or just general tips on how to deal with stress? Feel free to share them in the comments! Also, let me know what you’re reading right now! I love hearing what other people are reading and what they think about what they’re reading!

8 comments

  1. First, congratulations! I was married in Oct. also. I’ve found that the more I try to consciously break a slump, the worse it gets. Given everything you have on your plate right now, maybe just reading one book is a good thing. I’d love to know what you think of The Wrath and the Dawn. It’s on my list but I’ve been reading some pretty mixed reviews.

    Like

    1. Thank you. πŸ™‚ I’m just a little bummed. I thought that I’d have all this extra time after I was done with college for the summer, and it’s been basically the exact opposite. Lol. I’m planning on reviewing The Wrath and the Dawn. I’m on page 50 or so right now, and I’m enjoying it enough. The names are a bit hard to keep straight, and it goes from a third person narrative to some of the random thoughts of the main character in first person, but those are my only complaints so far.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah I remember how stressed I was planning my wedding! It’s been two years now and the best advice I can give is “forgive yourself”. Marriage is a big deal, let yourself focus on it. Don’t hold it against yourself if you get stressed or whatever. The blog will be here when you get back.

    Like

  3. Congratulations on the wedding!! If I’m going through a reading slump (and I’ve had a few), I usually go back and re-read favourites and/or comforting books. I also often turn to comics when reading and reviewing feels like a bit of a chore, and the comics usually help! Other times, it just takes a bit of time to get out of a slump, or one terrific new book… πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

