Review: Days Like This by Danielle Ellison (Spoiler Free)

days like this

Title: Days Like This

Author: Danielle Ellison

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Release Date: June 2, 2015

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Sometimes the only thing standing between fear and hope is you.

Almost a year ago, nineteen-year-old Cassie Harlen had a lot to deal with. A stack of college acceptance letters waiting for answers, a proposal from the boy next door, and a mother whose most recent bipolar episode left Cassie hurt and confused. Tired of cleaning up the messes caused by her mother’s disorder, of resenting her mother for not being there, and scared of being trapped by an inevitable future—which included marrying Graham Tucker—Cassie did the only thing she could think of to keep from ending up like her mother: she left.

Graham never knew why Cassie walked away. He woke up one morning and she was gone—along with the life that he’d created around her. After eleven months, Graham has a new plan for his future. One that doesn’t involve Cassie Harlen.

When Cassie’s mom nearly burns down her house, Cassie’s forced to return home. Back to a mother she’s tried to ignore and the guy she’s been unable to forget. Graham doesn’t know how he’s going to spend the whole summer living next door to the person who broke his heart without letting those old feelings push through to the surface.

Neither does Cassie.

I picked this one up on a recommendation from Cristian over at The Bookish God (who is pretty freaking cool, I mean, seriously, go over there and check him out). As usual, his recommendation ended up being a pretty awesome one.

All in all, I thought that Days Like This was a wonderful warm weather contemporary read. I actually ended up reading a good chunk of this one outside in the sunny, seventy/eighty degree weather. My biggest issue that I had with this book was I felt like there were some minor pacing issues. Without spoiling anything, I felt like certain events in the story took forever to happen, and once they did, the whole thing felt a little rushed. I feel like the timeline on this book could have been shortened up a little bit, as we spent a while circling an event that the reader already knows is going to happen.

The characters were interesting. I didn’t know how well I was going to like Cassie. Usually, I have a real problem with characters that run from their problems, especially when it deals with family. Cassie is very much a runner. When things start to get difficult, or she starts to get too close to someone, she runs. I ended up being able to connect with her character a lot. We share some of the same personality traits, especially with our thinking processes. She was extremely flawed, and I wanted to throttle her sometimes, but I think that’s what really made her character seem authentic to me. Graham has his own set of issues, but his storyline wasn’t nearly as complex as Cassie’s. His pain and feelings of betrayal were tangible. He went through A LOT when Cassie left, and he didn’t walk out of the experience without a few scars. I’d have to say that my favorite character was Cassie’s friend June. She was just hilarious, and wasn’t afraid to tell Cassie how it is. She would call Cassie out on the fact that she oftentimes hurts people with her actions, which was a much needed wake up call for Cassie.

Overall, this was a great “summer” read, with some real depth to it. The characters were all unique in their own way, and I think that they’ll stay with me for a while. Even with some minor pacing issues, I give this title four out of five stars.

10 comments

  1. HA! Thanks a lot for the shout out Macy!! (you’re cooler than me okay?) I’m so glad you liked this one!! I also finished it a couple of days ago and OH MAN! I can’t bring myself to write the review lol
    I do agree it could’ve been shortened a little, and I felt like there were times when nothing was happening and then it suddenly picked up again!

    Like

      1. Do the bookstores even have a section for NA yet? I’d love to browse and choose some to read, but I haven’t stumbled upon such an area at Barnes & Noble. Have I not found it, or are all the NA books mixed in with general fiction??

        Like

      2. I honestly think it depends on the store. Some will throw them in with YA books, some with adult fiction. I’ve only seen a few with a dedicated New Adult section. NA is basically the awkward middle genre that’s still establishing itself.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

