Review: The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker (Spoiler Free)

the witch hunter

Title: The Witch Hunter

Author: Virginia Boecker

Genre: YA Fantasy/Historical Fiction

Number of Pages: 368

My Rating: 5 stars

Publication Date: June 2, 2015

I received an ARC of this title through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Your greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

YOU NEED THIS BOOK. I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO TO GET IT, BUT YOU NEED IT.

*ahem*

Now that we have that established, we can move on to the less..manic portion of this review.

In case you couldn’t tell, I absolutely adored this book. I went into this one fairly blind, and I didn’t really know what I was expecting. It was beautiful. The writing kept me turning pages. If you follow me on Goodreads, you’ll see that I actually finished this in one day (two sittings) and that I had some pretty hilarious status updates.

I refuse to spoil this gem for anyone, so I’ll keep things vague.

Elizabeth is a gem of a character. It was genuinely enjoyable to be in her head. Her internal struggle between the life that’s she has known for years, and the life that she must now adapt to was fascinating to read about. The way she thinks about the world is just interesting to read. And, I mean, it also helps that she’s seriously kick ass, and is fiercely loyal to those she considers friends. She’s smart. She’s most definitely not overly trusting. She’s been screwed over too many times, and isn’t really looking for it to happen again.

The other main characters are just amazing. Between John, George, and Fifer, they’re all so loveable and protective. Fifer is wonderfully sassy, and also another fierce female character. George is hilarious. Wherever he goes, there’s sure to be comic relief from all of the action. John is…well, you’ll see. 😉

The romance in this book was slightly unexpected, but done SO WELL. By the end of the book, I legitimately had tears in my eyes from all of the feels. Trust me when I say that this slow burn romance is worth the wait.

Overall, The Witch Hunter features a kick ass heroine, swoony romance, and some seriously intense action. I loved it, and will definitely be purchasing a finished copy. Five out of five stars!

12 comments

  1. I can’t say that I liked this one as much as you did but I do agree that Elizabeth was seriously kickass. There were certain moments that were downright hilarious. For example, that kitchen scene with the ghosty servant and being caught by George. I don’t know if you thought it was funny but I thought her awk “oh shit I’ve been caught” moment was the best.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I haven’t read the HG either, but I do tend to shy away from anything that seems too… dire. Being burned at the stake qualifies!! OMG! (Even if she was just threatened with it but escaped, or whatever.) I’m more of a low-key reader, I guess. I’m still intrigued by that kitchen scene, though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

