Review: Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier (Spoiler Free)

dream a little dream

Title: Dream a Little Dream

Author: Kerstin Gier

Genre: YA Paranormal

Number of Pages: 336

My Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially this one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know—unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv could never resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute…

Writing this review physically pains me, because I feel so bad for not liking this book. I don’t write bad reviews very often at all. This book had so much going for it. I mean, look at that cover! It’s freaking gorgeous! I know that everyone loved Kerstin Gier’s Ruby Red trilogy (which I haven’t read yet) so I figured that this book would be awesome without a doubt. Unfortunately, I was wrong.

I nearly DNFed this title quite a few times, but I ended up finishing it. When I finally reached that last page, all I could think was: “What the hell did I just read?” Unfortunately, I didn’t mean that in a good way. I just felt like the storyline was much too jumbled and crazy for me to be able to follow what was happening. I found myself having to go back a few pages to try and understand what’s happening and why, and oftentimes I simply couldn’t figure it out at all.

My other problem was with the characters. Their dialogue felt stilted, and I couldn’t connect with any of them. In fact, I had a difficult time liking any of them at all. The only character I can truly say I actually liked was Lottie.

I’m beginning to wonder if my issues aren’t simply because this story didn’t translate from it’s original German text very well. If that’s the case, then I apologize. However, I just didn’t enjoy this story much at all, so I’m going to have to give it one out of five stars.

8 comments

  1. I was really looking forward to this book. It sounded so interesting! But that makes me sad and it very well could have been a translation problem, which is unfortunate. Thanks for the review, bad reviews are necessary sometimes.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like it! I was quite looking forward to reading this book. I’ll still give it a shot, hopefully I’ll enjoy it more. I know how you feel, writing bad reviews can be hard! Thanks for the review, it gave a heads-up as to what i may come across.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had that problem once with a YA novel translated from the German. I don’t recall what it was, but the story featured a group of teens who went sunbathing at the quarry, where there were regular perverts stalking the woods, leering at the young women in swimsuits. The parents always said, “Oh, ignore the perverts.” Like that would fly in America?? I guess it was a cultural thing that didn’t translate well. I was unable to finish.

    Like

      1. Yeah, what’s weird is, I have no idea. Maybe it was just one bad, nonrepresentative book. Or maybe there’s a serious pervert popluation running rampant in Germany. I’m not cultured enough to really have a clue! (Never been out of the country, don’t watch the news, etc.) HA HA. Either way, I guess it wasn’t a very good book, and I HOPE it wasn’t representative.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

