Review: Golden by Melinda Michaels (Spoiler Free)

golden

Title: Golden

Author: Melinda Michaels

Genre: YA Fantasy/Retelling

Number of Pages: 223

My Rating:  5 out 5 stars

I received a free digital copy of this title from the author in exchange for an honest review.

High school senior Hanna Loch just suffered a blackout in front of her entire homeroom class. She hasn’t had one in over ten years, and she’s terrified—the last time she blacked out, she woke up with no memory of her life before. To make matters worse, no one can explain why it happens. For Hanna, bad things tend to come in threes.

And that doesn’t even begin to cover it . . .

When she learns she could be a descendant of someone who lived once upon a time, Hanna must put her trust in William Vann, a descendant of one of the most hated villains ever known. Their histories are intertwined in more ways than she expected, and he has answers about her past, answers even her family won’t share.

But is it safe to put her trust in someone who appears to be danger reincarnate, while trying to escape the darkness that tried to kill her ten years ago?

Oh, this book. I loved it. I’ll start off by saying that fairytale retellings are my crack. Once I see that something is a fairytale retelling, I freak out and something that looks a bit like this happens:

grabby hands

When I got an email from Melinda asking if I would read and review Golden, I had to take a few breaths and pause before I sent back and email that said: YES GIVE IT TO ME NOWWWWWWWWW. I was able to reign myself in and send back a slightly civilized response without any excessive exclamation points or overuse of capitalization. Once I got the book downloaded to my Kindle, I read it in two sittings. It would have been one, but the first sitting lasted until 3 AM, and I figured I should actually sleep sometime… *cough*

Anyways, this book is really great. I will say that it is NOT a strict fairytale retelling. The way that Melinda uses fairytale elements was pretty unique, and I don’t think that I’ve ever read a book that was executed in such a way. I don’t want to spoil much, so I’m being intentionally vague here. You’ll just have to read to see what I mean. 😉

Hanna’s character very much a high school senior. She acted like a teenager, so be aware that she says and does things that aren’t exactly the smartest or most mature. On top of that, Hanna can’t remember anything before she was eight years old. Her family and friends are all mysterious and change the subject whenever Hanna tries to ask why she can’t remember things. Hanna spends a lot of the book being a bit angry at her whole situation, and it shows. I think that William’s character definitely has room to grow in a sequel, but he was definitely working the whole dreamy and mysterious thing. Hanna’s grandparents were adorable, especially in a scene where Hanna makes a comment about marijuana at prom. (You’ll see if you read it.)

Swoony, mysterious boys, dangerous mysteries, and fairytale retellings. What more could you possibly want? Five out of five stars. Thanks for a wonderful book, Melinda!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

