Review: Code Name Atlas by Tony Evans (Spoiler Free)

code name atlas

Title: Code Name Atlas

Author: Tony Evans

Genre: Science Fiction/Post Apocalyptic Fiction

Number of Pages: 310

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review!

Atlas is a war hero caught between his wife’s love or saving the survivors of earth. Earth has been destroyed by unknown forces leaving it in ruins. The closest thing to organized leadership is the packs of scavengers that take what they want. To keep his wife safe he builds an army. To give her the life she wants he fights. To win back their home he must go to war. But, she doesn’t believe that his sacrifice is for her and his selflessness is driving them apart. As he struggles for his wife’s devotion he is caught in a war with a tyrannical dictator. To win the war and his wife safety he must give her up and fight a war where defeat is expected. To fight a dictator he must become a warlord.

Hovering over everything is the threat of an alien invasion which Atlas slowly pieces together through unreliable stories told by the survivors. He soon learns that his fight is only a small part in a war that has been raging for hundreds of years and reaches throughout the galaxy.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. This book is most definitely miles out of my comfort zone. It’s not my usual material. Trust me, that was my first thought when Tony Evans emailed me with his pitch. However, as soon as I started reading up on Code Name Atlas, I knew that I had to read it. In his email, Tony said that he thought I’d like it. He was right.

The first thing I want to address is the fact that this is not YA. Some of the combat scenes in the book are pretty graphic, and I’d definitely have to say they’re intended for a mature audience. With that said, I do think that this book is good for someone who is looking to branch into Adult fiction after mainly reading YA. It’s easy to read, and though it has strong military elements, it’s still easy for those who might not be up to par on military lingo to understand. I really appreciate that. Tony Evans is a veteran who served in Iraq, so I was a little nervous that he might go heavy on the military terminology. In this genre, you’ll sometimes come across this problem. It wasn’t the case at all. I will admit that I do have immediate family serving in the military, so I have some pretty basic military knowledge, but nothing too extensive. I also do have experience with firearms, but Tony also talks about them in a way that allows most people to be able to understand what firearm the character has.

Now, for my thoughts on the plot. I’m not going to give too much away, because I feel like the synopsis basically sets you up perfectly to start reading. The story takes place in a post apocalyptic world. Entire cities have been destroyed, with millions of casualties. Nobody really knows what happened. All they know is that one day, they were urged to seek shelter underground. When the survivors emerged, they found the world around them destroyed. Without any law or order, bands of dangerous scavengers begin to form, trying to stay alive and take care of their own. We find Atlas in the midst of a struggle to take care of his wife and also try and help a band of survivors rebuild the Earth. Throughout the course of the book, we begin to see that maybe Atlas has to choose one or the other.

Atlas’ character was well executed. He’s someone who has a burning need to help people and do what’s right, which oftentimes leads to clashes with his wife, Amori. Her personality is entirely different from Atlas’, and I honestly found myself wondering how these two people could have ever been in love. I had to keep reminding myself that something as major as the Earth being destroyed is bound to change people in a big way. Some of the things that she does are entirely ridiculous and selfish, and there were times that I wanted to reach into my Kindle and throttle her. I will say that throughout the novel, you begin to piece together her personality and understand her and her actions a bit more. My favorite character was probably Gannon. He provided a little dry humor and sarcasm to the story, and it was really appreciated.

Overall, I would recommend this title to anyone who likes post apocalyptic, science fiction type stories, especially if you enjoy adult fiction or are looking to get into it. Five out of five stars!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

