Review: None of the Above by I. W. Gregorio (Spoiler Free)

none of the above

Title: None of the Above

Author: I. W. Gregorio

Genre: YA Contemporary

Number of Pages: 352 pages

My Rating: 5 stars

What if everything you knew about yourself changed in an instant?

When Kristin Lattimer is voted homecoming queen, it seems like another piece of her ideal life has fallen into place. She’s a champion hurdler with a full scholarship to college and she’s madly in love with her boyfriend. In fact, she’s decided that she’s ready to take things to the next level with him.

But Kristin’s first time isn’t the perfect moment she’s planned–something is very wrong. A visit to the doctor reveals the truth: Kristin is intersex, which means that though she outwardly looks like a girl, she has male chromosomes, not to mention boy “parts.”

Dealing with her body is difficult enough, but when her diagnosis is leaked to the whole school, Kristin’s entire identity is thrown into question. As her world unravels, can she come to terms with her new self?“

I really, really, REALLY loved this book. I know that I recently said that I’ve been having a hard time finding a contemporary that I was really enthralled by. This is it.

Going into this book, I had no knowledge on what it meant to be intersex. I honestly didn’t know that this happened. I.W. Gregorio did a wonderful job explaining what being intersex means, and what options are there for those who have been diagnosed.

Kristin’s character was wonderfully written. She was just so real. She dealt with her situation like a normal teenage girl would have. She was hurt and broken by all of the hate she endured. Sometimes, in these kinds of books, you’ll see the protagonist magically develop this ultra-thick skin, and they’re able to simply ignore taunts and hatred. That’s simply not realistic. Let’s be honest: words hurt, especially when they’re coming from people you care about. Kristin is also a teenage girl. As someone who is still technically a teenager, I can tell you that high school is already an emotional time for most.

My heart broke for Kristin. The cruelty that she had to endure throughout this book was terrible. My stomach actually hurt at some points. I wanted to reach through the pages and just give her a hug, simply because she was going through so much. Her diagnosis is certainly enough to shock a person, but she dealt with so much hate and cruelty from people that were kind to her before her diagnosis went public.

I highly recommend this book. I really think that people need to read this book, simply to understand how it feels to be the subject of the cruelty that Kristin endured. How it feels to be different. Without a doubt, five out of five stars.

5 comments

  1. I just heard about this one recently and as soon as I did I put it on my TBR list. It sounds so good, and it is such an important book. I’m glad you loved it. Great review, thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

