Chat/Rant: Love What You Love

Alright. I’m going to apologize in advance for how rant-y this post is going to be. I’ll try and keep my sass down to a minimum, but I can’t make any promises. You’ve been warned. 😉

Recently, I’ve noticed a trend that I really don’t like, and I just want to address it. This is something that’s always gone on, but I more recently noticed it after a few personal experiences.

I’m talking about judging people’s tastes. Now, this could be anything: books, movies, music, food, whatever.

Guys, it really has to stop.

I know everyone has personal preferences. Some have tastes that are much more eclectic than others.

That’s fine.

Some people might like books/media that aren’t exactly mainstream.

That’s fine.

Some people may only listen to Top 40 hits on the radio.

That’s fine.

Since the beginning of time, people have had personalities. We’ve had different likes, different dislikes, different views on everything, really. In this day and age, we really put ourselves out there. There are websites where you can discuss anything with anyone. With a click of my mouse, I could be on Goodreads, chatting about books. One more click, and I could hop over to Twitter and tell everyone what music I’m listening to. There’s chat rooms and forums for literally every single hobby or interest there is. Don’t get me wrong, open discussion is a wonderful thing. There’s nothing better than to meet someone that you can enthusiastically discuss some of your favorite things with. However, there’s always good with the bad. Take a look at one of your favorite band’s music videos on YouTube and tell me what the ratio of good comments and bad comments are. It’s pretty crazy, right? People are being verbally attacked by people that they’ve never met, simply for their taste in music.

I’m not saying that you can’t share your constructive criticism. I’m saying that it’s ridiculous to bash others because they enjoy something that you didn’t.

I have a pretty varied taste in music, and Lord knows that I like some bands that receive A LOT of hate on the Internet. For example, do you know what CD is currently in my CD player in my truck?

one direction

What’s in my CD player in my bedroom?

eric church

The last song I played on my phone? Carry On Wayward Son by Kansas.

I like all of the above. There’s a lot of animosity between fans of different music genres. I’ve literally had my intelligence insulted because of what songs I choose to listen to in my free time. It doesn’t matter that I’m in college, working to receive my degree. It doesn’t matter that I was able to skip a grade in school because I was considered more accelerated than others in my age group. No, I’m stupid for something as simple as my musical taste.

Do you see why this is just silly?

It doesn’t stop at music. This hostility occurs with movies too. I can think of one BIG example of hostilities getting out of hand over movies that happened quite recently. That’s right, I’m talking about the 50 Shades of Gray release. I know that this movie covers topics that are EXTREMELY taboo. If that’s not your thing, that’s great. I totally understand. The problem here is that people couldn’t even discuss the movie on the Internet without accusations flying. Bloggers who reviewed the movie had to take the time to put a disclaimer, trying to avoid a fight in the comments.

People were being accused of supporting abuse and rape.

That’s an extremely heavy accusation to throw at someone that you don’t know. I saw the movie, and have read the books. I find them to be enjoyable enough. Because of this, I was told by countless people that I have never met that I am encouraging rape and abuse. That I support something like that. Obviously, I do NOT support rape or abuse, but there it was. A ridiculous accusation solely based on my taste in movies. Countless other men and women experienced the same thing when they tried to discuss their thoughts about the movie.

Nobody is hurting you by liking a movie.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that this needs to stop. People shouldn’t have to feel ashamed of the things that they enjoy, nor should they feel afraid to discuss them on the Internet. I’ll say it again: It is perfectly fine to dislike something. There are definitely things that I dislike. It’s perfectly normal and healthy. What’s not healthy is bashing and insulting people for taking interest in something as trivial as music, books, or movies. All of the great web sites for fans to talk about their interests should be a welcoming place to talk to people that like the same things you do. They shouldn’t be war zones.

*drops microphone and steps off soapbox*

8 comments

  1. Amen! I try to be an advocate for film instead of a critic and only have about 6 movies out of 150 I gave Fs too. Even then if people like them that is awesome.
    I don’t like the way we often criticize first and praise last. Very few movies or whatever else has nothing good about it. Why not start with that and then talk about what you didn’t like.
    I also feel like we used to be able to enjoy things longer. Now the backlash comes within weeks and I’m left frustrated feeling like it just got fun. If you went with online comments you’d think Frozen was the worst movie ever made. Urgh…
    This is especially bad on youtube. I try to not pay attention to comment sections at all. The one good thing about creating your own content is you get to set the tone and lead the discussion. If we have enough of us committed to respecting each other and trying to be positive than it will help. After all, we are just sharing what we love not war zone as you say. Save that strong angry language for politics when it actually matters

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Reviewing All 54 Disney Animated Films And More! and commented:
    I agree with what she is saying. Let’s praise first and criticize last. Let’s try to be positive and understand where others are coming from, their unique perspective. We can criticize even hate something but we can also do it in a way that is thoughtful, reasoned, kind, respectful of others who think differently and in a spirit of fun. I will do better and I hope you will too.

    Like

  3. I think a lot of this has to do with the popularity of ‘angry critics’ like the Nostalgia Critic. But the key to the NC is that he is funny or he used to be. This softened the rhetoric making even those who love what he was trashing smile at the joke. Too many imitators miss that and are just ranting which is ok every once in a while (say a worst of the year list) but like you I grow weary of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

