Insurgent Movie Review

Recently, I went to go see the film version of Insurgent by Veronica Roth. The people that know me personally mocked me relentlessly for this, because when the first teaser trailer came out, I vowed not to go see it. Where was I opening night? You guessed it: at the theater.

I’m going to be honest here. Once I saw the previews and teasers, I knew that it was going to be pretty different from the book. I thought Divergent managed to stay pretty on course, but Insurgent looked like it was way off. Clearly, I had some preeeetty low expectations. I had basically resigned myself to the fact that I was there for one thing, and one thing only. If the movie was good, that’s a bonus.

theo james cheetos giftheo james giftheo james booze gifOh, where were we? Yes, the movie. Anyways.. I have mixed feelings. There were a lot of things from the books that I really wish had made it into the movie. There were also quite a few things that I noticed were different. Also, can we talk about the fact that Naomi Watts (Evelyn) looks like she’s the same age as Theo James and Shailene Woodley? I know she’s not, but.. It really looked like Four’s Mom could have been his sister.

WITH THAT SAID.

I did enjoy myself, all inconsistencies aside. I really had to completely remove myself from the mindset that I needed the movie to be exactly like the book (which was pretty easy since I haven’t read Insurgent in a year or two). Yes, you could tell that basically everything was CGI. They didn’t film on location for this film, and I think that was a mistake. It was certainly full of action, if that kind of thing appeals to you. Also, Miles Teller managed to be a hilarious dose of comic relief.

Instead of the five star scale I use for book ratings, I’m going to use a ten star scale for movie purposes. I’m also going to be giving the movie two different ratings: one from someone who has read the book, and one from someone who hasn’t (my fiance is helping out with this one).

My Rating: 6.9/10

His Rating: 8/10

2 comments

Leave a Reply

