Review: Southern Perfection by Casey Peeler (Spoiler Free)

Title: Southern Perfection

Author: Casey Peeler

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Number of Pages: 212

My Rating: Three out of five stars

Goodreads

I was sent a digital copy of this book for review through NetGalley.

Synopsis: Life is full of choices: good, bad, and ones you can’t control.

Raegan strives to be perfect in every way. Varsity cheerleader, honor student, and proud granddaughter of Dover Lowery. By day, Raegan is an over-achieving high school student, but at three o’clock, her real work begins.

What happens when appearances are not what they seem? Will Raegan be able to hold on to her life as she knows it, or will she be left all alone?

All of these questions are answered with one night, one song, one story, and one boy.

My Review:

Well, it was okay.

That’s about all I have to say about this book. It was cute and all, but nothing really happened. I think this book would be a lot better for someone who is younger than I am and still in high school. Yes, I grew up in a similar upbringing as Raegan (though I live in the North), but I’ve grown up and no longer attend field parties and football games. I thought that I would still be able to relate to these things, but it turns out I can’t. On top of that, the romance was just ridiculous and juvenile. I know that they’re teenagers, but they act like a couple of thirteen year olds, and then swear that their love is “forever”. I don’t know, I think I was just a bad match for this book.

Like I said, it wasn’t bad. It just wasn’t good. Three out of five stars.

5 comments

    1. I gave it three stars because I honestly think that it wasn’t the book, it was me. I think it was really my mistake on requesting this title, because I should have known it was too juvenile for me when I read the synopsis. Plus, I cross post my ratings and reviews on Goodreads, and I just didn’t want to put a bad review on something that wasn’t truly bad, ya know? I sat there deliberating how many stars to give it for quite a while, and I finally decided that I’ll give it a “middle of the road rating”.

      Like

  1. Huh. Yeah, that makes sense. It’s good to put some thought into it if you’re leaving starred review on goodreads!! 🙂 I hate it when a book doesn’t match up with me!! Anyway, I hope you like your next selection!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. This one didn’t have very many reviews to begin with, so I especially didn’t want to shoot down it’s average with a bad review when it wasn’t really bad. 🙂

      I’ve read some good ones since I finished Southern Perfection, and I definitely plan on posting reviews. I’ve actually been on a good book streak lately. I hope it lasts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

