Currently Reading + Mini Review of “Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy”

Don’t worry; my bookshelf tour IS coming. It’s turning out to be a lot more work than anticipated. Of course, I have my bookshelves in the worst lit part of my bedroom, and I clearly don’t have professional lighting. So basically, I’ve had to lug a floor lamp around, trying to take pictures (on my cell phone, mind you) without them being blurry, and yeah… Not going so well. I’m also waiting on the last of my February new releases to come in, so I can shelve them as part of my collection. To pass the time, I thought I’d share what I’m reading, and do a REALLY small review on the first book in Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan’s new e-series.

I’ll start off with what I’m currently reading. I have FINALLY jumped on the bandwagon, and I’m in the middle of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I’m LOOOOVING it. Like, I seriously regret my choices up until this point. I should have gave into the hype a long time ago. I know, I’m bad.

Right before I started Throne of Glass, I read “Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy”, the first of ten companion novels to the Mortal Instruments series. I’m REAALLLYYY going to be vague here, as even the synopsis holds BIG spoilers for The Mortal Instruments series. What I will say is that this e-series will be following a much loved character from TMI and their adventures after the events of City of Heavenly Fire. I really enjoyed this first installment. Usually I’m not too keen on novellas. I think short stories are a tease. I THINK this one is a little shy of eighty pages, so it’s pretty short. Somehow, I loved it, and I’m ready for the next installments, which I believe Clare and Brennan will be releasing a new one every month. It was pretty nice to see one of my favorite characters again, and to know that their story isn’t quite over yet. If you’ve read The Mortal Instruments series, I would definitely recommend checking this new e-series out. If e-books aren’t your thing, I’m going to say that (hopefully) Clare may release a physical bindup, like she did with the Bane Chronicles.

Anyways, have any of you guys read The Mortal Instruments series? Did you like it? What about Throne of Glass? And then, the all important question: what are you reading right now?

Leave a Reply

