Review: Mary Hades by Sarah Dalton

*I received a free copy in exchange for a review.*

Synopsis:

Not many seventeen year old girls have a best friend who’s a ghost, but then Mary Hades isn’t your average teenager.

Scarred physically and mentally from a fire, her parents decide a holiday to an idyllic village in North Yorkshire will help her recover. Nestled in the middle of five moors, Mary expects to have a boring week stuck in a caravan with her parents. Little does she know, evil lurks in the campsite…

Seth Lockwood—a local fairground worker with a dark secret—might be the key to uncovering the murky history that has blighted Nettleby. But Mary is drawn to him in a way that has her questioning her judgement.

Helped by her dead best friend and a quirky gay Goth couple, Mary must stop the unusual deaths occurring in Nettleby. But can she prevent her heart from being broken?

My thoughts:

That cover. Oh lord, that cover. Gorgeous.

This book was alright. I mean, I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t miraculously original. Ghost stories are some of the most overrated tales, so it’s becoming more and more difficult for authors to think of something that hasn’t been done before. I get it. But a sassy dead best friend? A dreamy guy with a dark secret? Come on now.

All overplayed plot issues aside, I loooooooved the atmosphere and feel of this book. A creepy campground? A quaint village with a history of tragedy? The moors? Yeeeeessssss. I could actually picture the places that Mary was, which is always nice.

I had mixed feelings about the characters. I didn’t dislike them. I mean, none of them were particularly annoying. I just didn’t find myself connecting or relating to them. Mary was a bit whiny at times, but nothing out of the ordinary for a teenage girl. Again, the characters were just average, and were a little stereotypical. Sassy best friend and dreamboat danger guy, I’m looking at you.

All in all, Mary Hades was an enjoyable read, but nothing ground breaking. I actually sat down and read it in one night. Four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

