Review: Haunted by Lynn Carthage

*I was provided a free digital copy in exchange for a review. Thanks NetGalley.*

Expected Publication: February 24, 2015

Synopsis:

Moving to my stepfather’s English country mansion sounded so promising. But the Arnaud Manor is neglected and unwelcoming, and I get the feeling it isn’t exactly uninhabited. Something wants to hurt us–especially my little sister, Tabby.

Okay, so I might be a little sensitive lately. My parents act oblivious to me, my old life is far away in San Francisco, and the gorgeous guy I just met tells me terrible stories about the infamous Madame Arnaud who lived here long ago, and about missing children and vengeful spirits. The kind of stories that are impossible to believe–until you’re living in one of them, fighting to protect everyone you love…

My Thoughts:

This was great read, not to mention a quick read. I sat down to read Haunted on a snowy morning and finished it by the late afternoon. The dark, creepy English mansion provided the perfect atmosphere for my escape from my (freezing cold) reality. The harrowing tale of Madame Arnaud and her…peculiar tastes was captivating.

But, (yes, there’s a ‘but’) Phoebe’s “secret” was EXTREMELY predictable. That’s the main reason that I didn’t give this a full five stars. I knew what was going on roughly 20% into the story, with the reveal being around the halfway point. Despite her secret being obvious, Phoebe’s character was likeable, and fiercely protective of her family, even if she was feeling a little jilted by them at the time.

The romance wasn’t overwhelming. There was a bit of insta-love, but it wasn’t anything terrible, especially since Miles and Phoebe’s relationship was a very minor sub-plot. The main focus was on the house and it’s more undesirable occupants. I felt like the main storyline was very strong. I personally haven’t read much like it, though I did find myself attempting to compare Haunted to Ghost House by Alexandra Adornetto.

All in all, Haunted by Lynn Carthage was a creepy, quick read, with a slightly predictable storyline that doesn’t hinder the reader’s enjoyment.

One comment

Leave a Reply

